continous improvementKaizen. It’s a word that  I learned a long time ago. One that I have tried to apply every single day.

“Japanese for “improvement” or “change for the better”, refers to philosophy or practices that focus upon continuous improvement of processes in manufacturing, engineering, supporting business processes, and management” – Wikipedia

With regard to programming, continuous improvement is the name of the game. There are tons of libraries coming out that for me, can get a bit overwhelming. It can sometimes feel that if you don’t know about X library/framework, you will fall off into the blackest hole of the universe and have “everyone” ahead of you. It’s especially painful when you are doing your best and some eight year old is developing software you only wish you could.

It’s ok, you are good enough and will only get better (if you want to).

If you do any form of programming development, kudos to you. This field is not easy. There are some incredible minds out there that continue to blow my mind with what they put out. This does not dissuade me from crafting my art, it only inspires the limitless opportunities of what is possible – what I can make possible.

We are all students. There is always an opportunity for to learn something new and/or strengthen our current abilities. For me, having the student mentality keeps me on my toes and allows me to be humble. Sure, there are “experts” out there that everyone respects. They’re “internet famous”, have tons of followers and are considered the top in their field. I have much respect for their accomplishments. That being said, they were once also considered a “novice”.

We all start out sucking (literally). Then we get better. Then some of us are satisfied just to get a paycheck.

Then there are those who want to improve, no matter what level they are in their field.

That’s where I am, and that’s where I think all developers should be. Keep your mind fresh and your head high. The world is at your fingertips.

